My First OSU Basketball Game

So last Sunday (2/22/09) I attended my first Ohio State basketball game. My good friend, Rick Smith called the Friday before with an offer of an extra ticket. Having never been—I thought it would be a wonderful way to spend a cold, dreary Ohio day in February. As we drove through campus we passed Ohio Stadium, despite sitting quiet and empty it gives me goosebumps. You can feel the energy emanating from the massive structure on the banks of the Olentangy River. After parking and a short walk we made our way inside to our seats, despite sitting in the nosebleeds 15 or so rows from the top we had a great view of the entire court.

I have a reoccurring number (222) that I see everywhere. There is no rhyme or reason to it’s pattern except that it seems to follow me through life. Sometimes when I see it I’m excited and take it as a good omen while other times it must point to my guilty conscience. On this day my number was out in force. Although I had already realized the date February 22nd, 2009 is a manifestation of my numerical shadow. Both as February is the 2nd month of the year and 2009 also aligns with the 22nd day—pretty cool! Sitting there talking with Rick, waiting for the game to start I was checking out my ticket and noticed that my trio of deuces hadn’t finished with me just yet. Aside from the date printed on the ticket the event codes located in both of the upper corners was listed as S0222 and ES0222. Perfect three sets of three twos.

dsc070931

Sadly to say the triple deuces failed to deliver good luck and my beloved Buckeyes couldn’t pull it out against a Fighting Illini team that seemed to hit everything just when they needed to. But it was an exciting game, a great way to spend a day with a friend and a real treat to see the Buckeyes, Value City Arena and The Shottenstien Center up close and personal for the first time.

dsc06961

Click picture to view Flickr Slideshow

One thought on “My First OSU Basketball Game

  1. Pingback: Triple Deuce Bomb « Circa71

Leave a Reply

